Proof of insanity in two examples: Installing the Eprint Bookmarklet for Safari and Evernote

“Insanity is defined as repeating the same behavior and expecting a different result.”- Einstein

Sometimes I get stuck on a tiny little detail. I can’t find the solution and all my grand plans grind to a halt as I hit the same buttons over and over again, hoping that it was just a fluke that it didn’t work the first ten times. Mr. Einstein would not approve.

So the first time I tried to install the Eprint bookmarklet I failed miserably. Why? Because, despite the totally arcane instructions (see below) I couldn’t figure out how to move my cursor in the URL field. So Kept on tapping the URL wanting to scroll and it wouldn’t. It finally took me accidentally holding my finger down long enough for the magnifying glass to show up, and then moving my finger in shock at its sudden appearance to realise this is how you move your cursor in Safari on the ipad.

Yes. I know. Duh.

This is how it looks like:

Here are the directions for the bookmarklet. If you go into Eprint, click on settings, then scroll to the bottom. You should find them there. I did have to write them down however as when you begin the process in Safari, it doesn’t allow you to switch screens for a moment to check them. Once I figured out how to move the cursor so that I could remove the Http:// in the URL it was very easy. And now I can easily print pages of the web! (this is helpful if you are using the SIS system on the web and want to print out a class list, or if you have accessed a google doc or a map or a recipe or….well, the possibilities are endless.

So first proof of insanity. Am I cured yet?

Second proof: installing Evernote on my desktop. I know, I know. This is an ipad blog. but one of the mysteries of Evernote, which everybody seems to speak highly of, and of which I find clunky and non-intuitive, is that you can’t actually tag anything on the ipad. You can VIEW stuff, but you can’t save it on Evernote. I find this ridiculous. They should really have an Evernote. bookmarklet.

Maybe they do and I haven’t looked hard enough?

But I digress. I wanted to tag some of the articles i have been receiving via my Google Alert for the keywords “Ipads in schools” and “Ipads in education” and share them with you (which I will still do, I promise.) But I couldn’t find the little Evernote elephant icon in my browser’s toolbar. So I downloaded it from the website, restarted Firefox and still no icon. So I did it again. And again. Until I was about to start lobbing things at my computer. I finally gave up and did something else. It wasn’t until I began this blog post did I finally spy the elephant. And no, it wasn’t on my browser’s toolbar but on my desktop toolbar!

I kind of hate Evernote more now.

If you are having better luck with this app, please let me know. So far, as you can probably read, I’m not loving it.

Leave a Reply

