Ipad Meanderings

Because the task of going through all those ipad apps we learned in our workshop seems as daunting as convincing the American midwest that there were no weapons of mass destruction, I decided to troll the web for some handy tips or brilliant ideas using the ipad. Keying such efficient search phrases such as “the most awesome way to use the ipad ever” or  “best ways to use your ipad” (my librarian self seems to be on vacation and while she is away my teenage brain seems to have taken over) I came across only a couple of good tips. A lot of the stuff mentioned we already know, or I have already covered, which warms the cockles of my analog heart as it means that we are on the right track.

I like being on the right track.

However, there were a couple of things I didn’t know and I’m not ashamed to admit it. As well, I cam e across a couple of good sites that would be worth checking out.

From Gigaom.com came this interesting tip about Safari:

Screenshot taken from website- this is not my lovely work but Gigaoms…
why re-invent the wheel, I ask?

As well as this one about finding text in a website:

Thanks Mr. Geoffrey Getz!

This one took me a minute to figure as I was already on the page I wanted. The trick is to type the word you want in the search box and then the “On this page” option appears. Very handy indeed!

Another site I stumbled upon was EmergingEdTech which has a great blog as well as this list of Free Productivity Resources for Educators .

That is all for today as I really need to get another cup of coffee and do some old school book cataloguing…

Leave a Reply

