rAPPido Review: Pinterest

So I finally took the time to check out Pinterest, which has been creating a lot of buzz in the online world.

I first heard of it through Lisa Johnson, who has create a pinterest board for all her posts about iPad Lessons.

Of what I can gather, pinterest is like a virtual corkboard collage you can create- a website equivalent of a playlist.

In order to try this new app out, I thought I would kill two birds with one stone and start one to fulfill this research request from the development office:

For the 125th, might you be able to research what Montreal maps exist from 1887 (our founding year) to now?
Specifically with the evolution of our Traf corner over the years (Dr. Penfield / Simpson).
To sign up to Pinterest, you have to request an invite. Then you have to wait until your request is accepted via email.
Then you can sign up with an email address and password and/or through facebook or twitter.
There is an app for it (actually there are three- two of which I can’t tell what makes them different):
The free version is obviously made for the iphone:
The other two costs $0.99. I took the amber one, but the descriptions seemed the same:
It took me a while to figure out how the app worked. I kept on tapping the Facebook icon and it kept on taking me to the webpage on safari (where you can do the exact same thing).
When you are searching on the web, all you have to do is copy the link you want to post on your Pinterest board and it automatically appears in the box. Then you tap the  Pin it button and you are good to go. The first time I did it though I couldn’t find my pin. Nor did I specifiy which board I wanted it on. I think that was because I wasn’t signed in properly.
Frustrated, I created my Montreal 19th century board online (which makes it seem kind of idiotic to have a paying app when you can do everything on the website).
The one thing that pinterest does give you is a nice visual of your topic. In terms of my project, it might have been better to just send a bunch of links to places where they can get historical maps, though if you use Pinterest on your desktop, you can upload an image:
But that would take me too long and time is money, yo. So even though it would look nicer if I downloaded and then uploaded all the images, I would rather just post the link and let the intrepid development office do the dirty work.
Other uses for Pinterest: because you can have other people upload to your board, students can use it to share the research load. Or use it as a way to present their research on a specific project or theme in English and History.
Warning though- the iPad version is limited to links to photos or videos on the web.
Leave a Reply

