Part III: Excel-ing in Office Squared

So I took my handy dandy google doc for potential Traf Reads titles and opened it in Office Squared (still reeling from this awesome feature).

The first thing I did when it opened was try to adjust the width and the height. It took me a while to figure it out but was finally able to find the way to make the boxes bigger or smaller:

Then I figured out how to adjust the width by holding your finger on the line you want to move and then sliding your finger, sort of like you would do in excel with a mouse on your desktop:

The dotted line is the one moving. However, I still haven’t figured out how to change the height this way, which is a little frustrating. But that might just be me and my sausage fingers not able to catch the line…

You can assign a type to each column, pretty much the same options you get in your regular Excel:

You can also highlight rows, change font, and all that wonderful style stuff:

You also have a whole range of functions available, many of which don’t mean anything to me. The one that I do find using a lot is the “sum” function, either for my budget or for calculating book list orders:

Here are the specs from their iTunes store description:

SPREADSHEET

☆ Handle multiple worksheets with unlimited rows and columns
☆ Search and sort cells
☆ Cell formatting: (bold, italic, borders, text and cell color, alignment, text wrapping)
☆ Cell types: General, Number, Currency, Percentage, Date, Time, and Text
☆ Merge cells feature
☆ Pane freezing
☆ Tap and drag to change row heights and column widths
☆ Intelligent auto range selection for range based functions
☆ Tap cells to compose formula
☆ Insert, copy, paste or cut cell ranges, rows or columns
☆ Date formats, date separators and numeric separators are all handled correctly according to the current locale, with manual override
☆ 146 different functions

The one thing that I notice is missing is the option to create a chart with your data, which feels like a huge oversight. If I am not mistaken, numbers for the iPad still allows you to create beautiful graphics representing your info. Hopefully Office squared will feel the pressure and make this option available for the iPad.

I am sure many of you have more complex needs for Excel, so if you have a problem  or an exercise and want to know whether excel can do it, let me know.

 

Leave a Reply

