Amazing article by a sixteen-year old on reading Shakespeare on the iPad

Read more…

A very interesting account of how an iPad is used in the classroom by a very articulate sixteen-year old teen from California.

Although she is enjoying the iPad and relishing the ease with which she can access explanations to words and phrases she doesn’t understand in Shakespeare, she makes this very prescient observation:

As I stare down at my own screen, I realize that I’ve developed a habit of submitting to my annoyances rather than accepting the challenge of trying to grasp what I can before turning to other sources. I have no lessons in patience, only a reliance on the here and now.

“Accepting the challenge to try and grasp what I can before turning to other sources.” This is a very very good point and I think is worth discussion.  I came across a TED talk from a high school math teacher who brings up the same point:

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

