Lesson Plan: Book Title Poem Project on Pinterest

Screen Shot 2012-11-30 at 8.14.21 AMFor the Grade Seven poetry unit, we decided to have some fun and use book titles sort of like a magnetic poetry set. I got the idea from Carol-Ann Hoyte, poetry maven and fellow library conspirator.

Here were the guidelines:

1. Each table gets a package of 80+ book titles in an envelope.
2. Each student makes their own poems using the book titles. More than one student can use a title.
Here are some suggested guidelines for the project:
1. They must use at least 5 titles
2. They cannot add extra words or punctuation.
3.Once they have put together their poem, they write it down on a piece of paper or on their iPad and show it to the teacher.
4. Once they are finished they can come down to the library with their iPad to stack their poem with the actual books.
5. They take a picture and email it to the teacher and Ms. G (I want them too!)
6. We make a virtual and/or physical display of the poems.
A Reader’s choice is awarded to the best poem. Winner will get house points and a prize from the fabulous library prize box!
So what did we use the iPad for?
1.Well, I used it to film the students assembling their poems:
2. The students used it to either write down their poems or take a photo of their bits of paper.
3. I used the iPad to take a photo of the stacks of books:
Screen Shot 2012-11-30 at 8.12.49 AM
I couldn’t use the iPad to post it to pinterest as the pin it only allows you to pin things from the web- it does not yet connect to your camera roll (hopefully that is coming?) . Oh- just found a free app that allows you to pin from your camera roll:
Screen Shot 2012-11-30 at 8.39.44 AM
Lesson learned- next time I do this project I will skip the step where I email the photos to mysellf and simply pin them directly from my iPad!
Still you can view the Book Title Poem Project Pinterest Board nicely with the Pinterest app- in fact I like the view better on the iPad than on my desktop- it seems coiner somehow!
photo
What would I do differently?
I would take better pictures. With a nicer background. The photos above leave quite a bit to be desired.
I would also stagger the times the students can come and stack their books- there was a little book stacking chaos going on!
Leave a Reply

