Hacker Scouts! Why We Need to Teach our Students to Code

Via Edudemic

I am so excited about this for several reasons. One, I read this article about how academics in fields other than computer science who had spent some time learning code were more likely to get hired than those who didn’t (I can’t find the blog post at this moment but am working on it).

And then this:

Coding.

Programming.

I have no idea about it. But my kids will need to know about it. And thinking about how they will need these skills whether they become an English Literature professor or an engineer made me rethink how I was understanding the concept of creation online.

I have always viewed the idea of creation, one third of the holy trinity of technology in education (the other two are connection and collaboration and yes I am making this up as I go along) as meaning creating content on already built platforms. Blogging on blogger or wordpress, uploading videos to youtube and all the other myriad tools and templates available online (don’t get me wrong- I am a BIG fan of the WYSIWIG).

But I think it might go deeper than that. We scratch the surface of what it means to create with technology if we don’t understand the infrastructure of what we are using.

So yeah. I am excited about Hacker scouts.

hacker-scouts

Read Edudemic Article

 

To conclude, a little anecdote. I have a friend who had the benefit of participating in a pilot program in about Grade five. They were taught how to use Scratch, the program the TEd Talk dude above is talking about. She went on to get a degree in linguistics and then working in dot coms in San Francisco on the strength of her completely unofficial diddling around with code. I met her in library school and now she does knowledge management consulting work for the UN. She attributes her ability to learn and understand different coding programs to her initial introduction to coding at such a young age.

What do you think? Perhaps a Montreal Chapter of the Hacker Scouts?

More on the subject:

Should Kids Learn How to Code in Grade School?

Why all kids should be taught to code

36 Resources to help you teach kids programming

 

 

Leave a Reply

