rAPPido Review: Preparing for the demise of Google Reader with Feedly

Feedly

Price: free

As I mentioned last week, Google has decided to scrap their RSS feed Google Reader. The decision behind this intrigues me. It makes me wonder if I missed the memo somewhere, if the way I collect websites and blogs to read is now updated. If they are scrapping it, it can only mean one thing, right? The tool is out-dated. Which means I am out-dated.

Oh dear. This will have to be further investigated in the near future, but right now, I want to cling to my lovely collection of feeds, please. In order to do that, I need to find another feed reader. As the article I found on Google Reader alternatives recommended, I thought I would try Feedly, as it has an app for the iPad.

I downloaded it first on my iPad. The first thing it asked me to do was access my google reader, which means that I didn’t have to figure out how to import all my collection to the new platform. Now whether or not my feeds will remain in Feedly once Google Reader is gone remains to be seen. Oh! But I just google this problem and the folks at Feedly anticipated me. They wrote a nice blog post for people like me who are migrating to Feedly from Google Reader! So yes, now all my sites are safely ensconced in Feedly.

The default view took posts from my interesting stuff file and laid them out in magazine format, much like Flipboard:

photo

For my purposes however, that is not so useful. I quickly tapped the bars in the left hand corner and got my table of contents. I was instantaneously enamoured with the pretty colour-coding of my different categories as well as the clean, easy-to use interface::

photo

 

The Saved for Later works much like starring in google reader. In fact, my saved for later tab is already populated by the stuff I starred in Google reader.

I did spend some time looking for where I could add a website to Feedly either through the app itself or an add-on in my web browser. I didn’t find a way to add anything through my iPad, which led me to download Feedly on my desktop.

I downloaded it as an add-on to Firefox, the web browser I use the most frequently. After restarting it, and signing in with my google account, I noticed the icon appear beside the URL field in my browser:

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 9.48.21 AM

 

If you click on the icon, it brings you to the Feedly site where you can add a website to your collection:

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 9.27.26 AM

 

On the iPad and through your desktop Feedly , you still haver the options to email, link, share, and save the articles you read:

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 9.51.23 AM

 

All in all, Feedly is a an easy-to-use, more elegant tool than Google Reader. No need for lengthy and complicated exporting and importing. It gives me everything Google Reader gave me plus a more elegant interface.

One thought on “rAPPido Review: Preparing for the demise of Google Reader with Feedly

  1. Pingback: The Blogging Kraken: How to Keep Up with All Your Students’ Blogs? | ipadyoupad

Leave a Reply

