The Hidden Power of Google Drive: Format your essays!

I came across this article yesterday while researching Google Drive and I gotta admit, I was intrigued. What? You can create a document in Google Drive and then research your specific topic? Oh and it will insert a link in your paper and immediately make a foot note in perfect MLA citation?

Well, that’s just crazy talk, right.

It turns out it isn’t. I used my google doc where I am storing ideas for the upcoming visit of Mr. Badley to try it out.

To get started, go to tools–>research:

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 8.51.10 AM

 

Then enter a search in the field that pops up on the right hand side:

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 8.51.41 AM

 

As you can see, you have many options. Because my search need wasn’t particularly scholarly ( I am looking for good activities to do with mysteries, I chose the general google search. But apparently, if you are looking for images they will only access those public domain images you are allowed to use).

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 8.52.20 AM

 

When you pass the cursor over the link you have three options. Here is the preview:

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 8.53.38 AM

 

This is how it looks when you click on insert a link:

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 8.54.17 AM

 

And the prettiest sight I have ever seen, a lovely, perfectly formatted footnote:

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 8.54.37 AM

 

I know, right?  Who the heck knew?

Of course, every rose has its thorn, as some 80s glam rock band who’s name escapes me liked to remind us. The research option is not available on the google drive app- alas much of the functionality on the desktop version is not available on the google app. Boo.

But wait! No! You can’t do it through the Google drive app, but you can access the tool through Google Chrome!

Here are a couple of screenshots of the link and then the footnote I added to my document on the iPad:

photo

 

And the footnote:

photo

 

Yay! It turns out to be just a little thorn for after all!

I tried to figure out if it would also configure a bibliography, but alas it seems to confine itself to footnotes. No  matter- by that time the battle is halfway won!

 

Leave a Reply

