5 Myths Vs. Facts About Copyright Infringement on the Internet

Although the following infographic hails from Australia, the rules still apply.

Looking at the rules, I realize that they are impossible to follow. Social media is built on linking to other people’s works, on sharing funny cat pictures or videos going viral, getting embedded into other people’s sites, images trekking their way through instagram, snapshot, etc. Heck, I contravene these rules everyday with this blog, posting to things that are not my own constantly, this post being one example of how I found an infographich created by one body on a blog who got it from another blog. In fact- looking at the legalese, I shouldn’t be sharing this at all. And yet, here I am, sharing it with you, because

1: I am pretty sure legal123 has bigger fish to fry than lil’ ol me with me five followers.

2: I have a feeling that they meant for it to be shared (I just checked the site where it was created and they give you the option to embed it so I am assuming it is okay to share it. Copyright is so confusing).

3: I think information should be shared as long as credit is given where credit is due.

Although I agree with some of them (see myth #3 specifically- changing a few words in a paragraph does not an original paragraph make, my little grasshoppers) it makes me nervous to think about the looming clash between how we access and share information and how we legislate it.

What are your thoughts?

See on Scoop.itipadyoupad

Thank you to Larry Ferlazzo for sharing the following Infographic on his blog. by floydworx. Explore more infographics like this one on the web’s largest information design community – Visually. &n…

See on langwitches.org

One thought on “5 Myths Vs. Facts About Copyright Infringement on the Internet

Leave a Reply

