Word Doc to Editable Google Doc: The Missing Step

In my inbox this morning was a query from the history teacher to our intrepid IT committee wondering why, when she uploaded her Google doc to share with her students who were supposed to edit it, were they not able to? Have you had this happen before? I have. I never really looked into it, just assumed that Google doc was a tad xenophobic of other formats. My way around it was to simply copy and past my text into a new google doc.

However. Apparently there was a step I was missing when uploading my file. Thanks you Dan the Man for sending the instructions!

Here is a video on how to upload them:

Here are the written instructions as given by Dan:

Uploading Word Documents to Google Docs

1. Sign in to your Google Docs account
2. In the upper left corner of the window, click Upload
3. Click “Select files to upload
4. Select the Word file(s) you would like to upload to Google Docs
5. Click Open
6. Make sure “Convert documents, presentations, and spreadsheets to the corresponding Google Docs formats” is selected
7. Click Destination Folder to select a destination folder, if desired
8. Click Start Upload
Note: I just tried it. The first document I uploaded had the conversion off. Though I turned it on, the document I just uploaded did not convert. I was not able to edit it:
Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 8.09.06 AM
But the second time I tried to upload the file, the conversion option was already turned on and I was able to edit it:
Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 8.10.41 AM
You can see the difference with the icons :
Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 8.07.39 AM
Now, if only it was possible to turn on the conversion before I start uploading my file.Wait a minute…I just figure it out! Go to settings–>upload settings–>convert uploaded files to google format:
Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 8.12.51 AM
There you go! Hopefully this will help you be a little more streamlined than me…
Leave a Reply

