Use your iPad to get S.M.A.R.T!

Last week we received an email from our very own Mr. Big Cheese asking us to think about our professional goals. He requested we use the S.M.A.R.T. method (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, Time-Bound) and sent us the following links to help us out:

Now, I love me this kind of exercise. In fact, some might say that I might be a little pathological when it comes to my goal-making (my family in particular, especially when I make them do a SMART goal for every aspect of their life before the new year).
But I digress…
The first question in my head when I saw that email was, is there an app for that?
Of course there is!
Screen Shot 2013-11-12 at 8.35.34 AMI didn’t do much searching before I found this lite version of a SMART goal app. The free version allows you to create 3 goals for yourself and 3 goals for someone else (which seems a little bit presumptuous to me, but hey. Whatever floats your domineering personality boat).
The paid version will cost you a whopping $1.99.
Here is the first screen. It gives you a nice summary of what should go in each section. It would be great however, if you could have this info on a sidebar as you are filling out your own goal as a reminder though, but sadly they do not offer that option (this is just a little criticism though, mainly brought on by my pea-sized memory capacity.
photo
Oh- and it goes into more specific details for each point:
photo
The examples are pretty useful, giving you a nice comparison between an effective Smart goal and a not-so effective one:
photo
Filling out the different categories is super easy though I would advise having a little guide to the Smart model in front of you – or at least save your goal before switching screens. I had to redo mine a few times because I couldn’t remember what went where:
photo
Once you save your goal you can edit, delete email it to yourself or go to the action plan. I am glad you can edit as I just noticed a typo in my title… The action plan is the concrete actions you need to complete in order to accomplish your goal. You can set a time limit on it and have it checked off (I love checking things off!)
photo
All in all, this is a simple, elegant template for you to create your goals. You can create it while sitting on your couch at home and simply email it to Mr. Big cheese when you are done!
One thought on “Use your iPad to get S.M.A.R.T!

Leave a Reply

