Innovation Design In Education – ASIDE: Projects In Web 3.0: Privacy Is The New Predator

This post came to me right in the middle of looking for some good visuals for my upcoming workshop on mindful use of technology.

I am curious to know how many people use avatars and encourage their students to use them? I myself am ambiguous about it, especially since if what you are posting reflects positively on you. I mean, I want my posts to be under my name- I put a lot of thought in them and want to stand behind them. But perhaps I am missing some component of this? Perhaps it is different when you are talking about 6 year olds who are beginning to make projects online or use apps that require usernames and passwords. As a high school, we are already dealing with students who have vast social media networks and who’s names are already out in the world. Our focus is more on how to get them to put their best foot forward and tap the potential of social media to bolster their budding academic and/or professional careers.

Would love to hear your thoughts on this!

Oh and P.S.  Check out the Facehawk thing- it takes your facebook timeline and makes a music video out of it and then rearranges the posts in the shape of a hawk. Very cool and very very freaky. This is mine:

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 9.54.37 AM

See on Scoop.itipadyoupad

Innovative design crosses over all aspects of education. The American Society for Innovation Design in Education, or ASIDE, seeks to infuse curriculum with new approaches to teaching and thinking.

See on theasideblog.blogspot.ca

Leave a Reply

