Evernote-Breaking through the wall

Evernote Free

Evernote
Free

Sometimes I have unexplainable mental blocks for certain things. For example, anything with the Oprah Book Club selection sticker on it. For some reason, the very fact that a book is plastered with that sticker will ensure that I do not read that book unless under duress (of which book club counts as duress). And of course, the moment I finally pick the book up, years after the hype has died down and all my friends who highly recommended it can’t remember the plot line, I discover how amazing it is and can’t believe I didn’t read it sooner.

treebeard-the-ent-e1269783419659

Treebeard the Ent. “…we never say anything unless it is worth taking a long time to say. “

I have the same phenomena with certain apps and social media. I have already written about my reticence with Twitter ( I think I am altogether to Ent-like to enjoy a medium that restricts me to 144 characters) I pushed through the wall and figured out how it can be useful to me.

Now it is time to scale the Evernote wall. A few things has made me re-visit Evernote:

1. This article about an iPad workflow (will have to tackle edmodo next)

2. My husband asked me about it last night as he is being encouraged by his work to begin using it.

As it so happens, I have been playing with it for the last week in order to figure out how it can be useful to me. I am giving a Digital Citizenship workshop tomorrow and thought that would be a good project to gather information, especially since I plan to build on the workshop with other ideas.

And lo and behold, it is useful ( I know, I know. I am so darn slow.) I can access it on my desktop, iPad and iPhone (in fact,my family and I spent a few minutes last night dictating limericks on Evernote and watching them being transcribed automatically into our notes).

I created a notebook called Mindful use:

1. Tap Notebooks

2. Tap Edit

3. Tap new Notebook

photo

So far, it has been useful as a bucket for all the websites and resources I find on the topic:

photo1

 

But you can also add lists:

photo2

I also emailed myself the text I wrote for it last year as well as saved some of the infographics I use:

photo3

 

photo4

 

You can also share your notebooks with other people, which makes it ideal for any group work:

photo5

 

The dictation function is helpful, especially when I am using it on my phone or iPad (not so much on my desk top). But on the desktop, you have the option to use the Evernote website clipper, which allows you to save only a snippet of a website not the whole website itself. This is useful if you only need a chunk of the info.

Okay. Fine. I am now an Evernote convert.I would be interested to know if you use Evernote and how and what you use it for!

Leave a Reply

