Grade 7 Mindful use of Social Media Presentation

Yesterday I spent two hours with our grade 7s talking about the good, the bad and the ugly of social media. The students were very engaged and couldn’t wait to share their stories. They were also very shocked by the video I like to show about their digital dossier (see below). During the recess break, several girls came to me to show me their social media profiles and asked me if they were safe. When asked how important their privacy was to them, they all answered very high and even mentioned steps they have taken to secure it.

Below is the material I used for the presentation. I tried to keep it very simple, and had three main categories: Be Aware (of what you post online), Be respectful (of others but also yourself) and Be Healthy (mindful also means balanced!).

Here is my Prezi (pretty much the same as last year with a couple of modifications). Once again, I tried to embed it and it didn’t work. This is starting to be an anti-embedding epidemic and it is very frustrating. So here is a screenshot – you can click on the image to bring you to the actual presentation:

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 9.08.51 AM

Here are my speaker’s notes:

2013 Grade Seven Social Media Presentation Notes

And here is the thinglink to the videos and info graphics I used (I posted it yesterday!). Or you can view them directly below (youtube embedding still works. I am so confused…):

On Digital Dirt:

On the Digital Dossier:

On internet addiction:

And last but not least, the info graphic on posting photos:

Infographics_Post a Photo_letter_051712_letter size

During the presentation, I asked the students to think of  a few rules that could guide their own behaviour for each category. These rules I have formatted into a contract. We plan to have a solemn signing ceremony (including the students as well as their teachers) next week before exams.

Here is Grade 7 Mindful use of Tecnology Contract the students came up with:

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 9.31.23 AM

However, every time I do this presentation, I am struck by how it is just the tip of the iceberg. Follow up is essential if we are to reinforce these behaviours. I am planning some more activities in the winter and spring terms in order to continue and hopefully deepen the conversation!

Leave a Reply

