rAPPido Review: iStudiez Pro

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 9.57.11 AMLast year I reviewed the light version of Istudiez Pro. Even with the light version, it clearly had a lot of options that were very useful for us. So I decided to splurge and pay the $2.99 to try out the paid version.

The difference between the lite version and the pro version is that the lite version limits you to:

– 1 semester
– 5 courses
– 15 classes/exams per course
– 15 assignments
– 5 instructors
– 2 holiday periods

 

But for the low price of $2.99 you can have (I am assuming) unlimited semesters, etc. For this review, I thought it would be good to pretend I was a student,so I have shamelessly stolen my daughter’s schedule. I did this instead of using a generic student because I have a calendar of her extra curriculars in my iCal, and the great thing about Istudiez pro is that you can sync your calendars to the app.

The first thing I did after buying the app was to go into settings–>calendar and choose the calendars I wanted to appear in my homework app. This included my personal calendar as well as the feeds I subscribe to from the school’s web calendar:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 9.58.27 AM

 

Students can subscribe to their class feeds for  exams and large projects as well. Then I wanted to see if you could create assignments without creating courses, etc.:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.04.31 AM

 

This is important as some girls will not want to add all the infrastructure (eg. semester, classes schedule, instructor) which they would have to do by hand. They have this information in many other places so it might not be necessary.

Having said that, some girls will want to be as organized as possible. So I timed myself to see how long it took  to add my daughter’s semester, classes and teachers:

Adding the semester (about 1 minute):

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.09.59 AM

 

Okay- it took me about two minutes to figure out where I can add my courses. Starting at 10:12 am.

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.17.04 AM

 

It took me about five minutes to add my classes. Once again, students could stop here. They have their schedules usually screenshotted on their iPad so do not necessarily need to add their schedule into the app.  But let’s pretend I am a keener and want all my info in one place. Will the app be able to deal with our weird 2 week schedule? Let us see!

It took me about five minutes to add the PE schedule:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.27.50 AM

 

Because we have a 2 week schedule, I had to be careful to begin the semester for the Week 2 classes on January 12, instead of January 6 so that the schedule would be accurate. As you can see, it is pretty time-consuming and probably not necessary, but very doable. Here is how it looks like in calendar view:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.32.29 AM

 

Now I have noticed that the assignments don’t show up in the calendar view. Dots show up on the small calendar to notify you that you have something due, but it does not show up in the calendar view. It is possible to add a new event on the calendar:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.59.46 AM

 

But then they wouldn’t be in Assignments…

The day view allows you to see your schedule as well as the assignments due:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 11.03.17 AM

 

It also gives you the ability to add either an event on your schedule or another assignment on the day. With assignments, you can choose when you want to be alerted of the due date:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 11.05.08 AM

 

It is possible to either import your teacher’s contact information by allowing istudiez to access your contacts. I did this and it too me about one second. But I am assuming the student would not already have the teacher in their contacts:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 11.09.25 AM

 

There is also a grade tracker which we will ignore- students can or cannot explore this option on their own.

Our conclusion?

  • Easy and quick to use: (2/2)

Yes, depending on how many things you want to input into the planner. If you want to input your whole schedule, it will take you some time but it is do-able and pretty easy, if a little onerous. But if you are happy with simply adding classes and assignments, it won’t take you very much time at all!

  • Clean, intuitive interface: (2/2)

Yes. I really like the default interface, which is the daily view. On what side you have your schedule, and on the other side you have the assignments due that day. It is clean and very helpful.

  • Different views (daily, weekly, monthly) of all assignments:(1/3)

And once again, here is where the app lets us down. There is a daily view of both schedules and assignments, but the weekly view is only what has been put into the calendar, not the assignments due. Although we can see when we have something due by the little dots on the monthly view, it doesn’t get more specific than that.

  • Different colours for different classes:(1/1)

Yes! It was very pretty.

  • Alerts for assignments (1/1)

Yes, the alerts lets you choose when you want to be reminded- a day before, etc.However there is no repeat.

  • If not free, then cheap (2/2)

Yes. The upgraded version is only $2.99

  • Easily synced with your other devices: (3/3)

Yes- you can sync iStudiezpro with iCloud and you can import your iCal calendars and your subscribed calendars into the app.

Result: 12/14

Not bad, but the inability to get a nice visual of your assignments due in a week is still a problem. I wonder if the Istudiez pro would consider making adding assignments to the calendar as an option? If so, it would get a 14/14!

 

Leave a Reply

