rAPPido Review: Erudio Pro

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.46.00 AM

 

 

Although I reviewed the free version of Erudio last year, I thought I would give the paid version another chance after I read some of the new features:

              What’s New in Version 1.5

– Adds daily digest—Erudio will now automatically notify you every day of your tasks and assignments that are due today, due tomorrow, and overdue
– Improvements to calendar sync—you can now choose to sync your tasks and holidays in addition to your courses
– Tasks are now due at a time of day in addition to being due on a date.
– Reminders can now be set relative to the due date of a task (e.g. 30 minutes before due)
– Various improvements to the Erudio settings interface
– Numerous bugfixes

I was especially interested to the second point : “Improvements to calendar sync”. Could it be that I finally found an app that gave you a weekly view of your assignments, not only of your schedule?

Colour me intrigued…

Although I like the simple, warm interface, with the quaint cursive and the wood panelled background, it still took me a while to figure out why the calendar was showing stuff from last year. I finally figured out that it was still using the semester I inputted last year for the purpose of reviewing it. So the first thing I did was click on the graduation cap icon on the left hand side and changed the winter semester to 2014:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 8.58.45 AM

 

That was easy! So back to the default screen which is accessible via the checklist icon.

When you first enter the app, this is the first thing you see:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 8.56.37 AM

 

To see your calendar events you tap the red dot:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.01.45 AM

 

Ok. So far, I haven’t inputted any extra data. Everything on my calendar has been synced with my iCal and Gmail calendars. To choose which calendars you view in Erudio, go to settings (the gear icon)–>Calendar Sync–> and choose your calendars:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.05.38 AM

 

Now let’s populate our app once again. I am going to use a typical grade seven schedule. I already have the winter semester plugged, so now I am going to add some classes:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.12.00 AM

 

Erudio doesn’t allow for a 2 week schedule so it would not be useful to you use it for class schedules. Although this is not as important as keeping track of the homework, as the students have their schedules in other places, it would have been nice.

However, you can’t have a course without a section apparently, so that is kind of annoying…I want to simply add the courses so that I can colour code my assignments. Okay- so I tried adding sections to PE- this is how it would look:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.20.02 AM

 

 

Not ideal…

Okay, now I am going to add an assignment. In my settings, I chose to sync it up with my calendar:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.25.38 AM

 

Now, this I like. Simple, and intuitive, with the ability to set your reminders at a specific time, date as well as set repeats until the assignment is due:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.24.22 AM

 

When you go back to the default view of the timeline, you can very clearly that there is one task due this week:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.29.39 AM

 

And voilà! The task appears in the calendar view as well:

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.31.12 AM

 

However, you will also notice that my PE classes are showing up. This is annoying because Erudio doesn’t allow us to have an every other week schedule so both week 1 and week 2 schedules are showing up.

Let’s see how it stacks up with our criteria:

  • Easy and quick to use: (0/2)

Although it is really easy to use once you get the hang of it, you have to get the hang of it. Also the fact that they require you to add sections to your courses and that they don’t allow for a 2 week schedule is a major problem.

  • Clean, intuitive interface: (2/2)

Yes. The interface feels warm and welcoming, is simple, uncluttered and user-friendly.

  • Different views (daily, weekly, monthly) of all assignments:(2/3)

Out of all the apps, I like the default view the best. It gives you your weeks in a line with the number of tasks due that week. If you want to go more in detail, you simply tap the week.In this view you can even see the whole semester. The weekly view however is in list format. It would be nice if you could see it in an actual calendar view.

Different colours for different classes:(1/1)

Yes! It was very pretty.

  • Alerts for assignments (1/1)

Yes, the alerts lets you choose when you want to be reminded- a day before, etc. It also allows you to add repeat reminders which is awesome.

  • If not free, then cheap (2/2)

Yes. The upgraded version is only $2.99

  • Easily synced with your other devices: (3/3)

Yes- you can sync Erudio with iCloud and you can import your iCal calendars and your subscribed calendars into the app.

Result: 11/14

 Erudio has some very nice features, all of which are overshadowed by the limitations to the course schedules. And although they have gone the farthest in letting us add assignments to our calendar list view, I would like it if they went even farther and let us have an actual weekly calendar view, for those students who need to have a visual of their week.

Leave a Reply

