rAPPido Review: Smart Recorder 7 – the voice recorder and transcriber

UPDATE:

Ms. History tried using the free version to send a recording longer than three minutes- it didn’t work- she had to pay for an upgrade. I say an upgrade, as their features are set on a menu, where you have to pay a certain fee for a certain feature, more for another. Hmmm. I think I am revising my review to say this is a great option ONLY  if you are making your comments less than three minutes. I am still in the midst of finding a better option.

It turns out that you can use Explain everything simply as a recorder- I tried by making a recording that was over 5 minutes and exported it to my google drive. It totally worked!  NOTE- Explain everything costs $2.99

Late yesterday afternoon I was visited by Ms. History teacher who was trying out quick voice to send feedback on student presentations. It all worked fine until she tried to email  herself the file. Though quick voice (free) lets you make recordings up to five minutes, it only allows you to export by email. Yet a five minute audio recording is a way bigger file than email will allow you to send. Consequently, she finds herself with some feedback she has no good way to give to the students.

My mission: find a free voice recorder with a user-friendly interface that allows different export options.

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 9.25.13 AM

After a very quick perusal of the following articles:

I decided to try Smart Recorder 7.

The interface is pretty simple, with a large red button you need to press to begin:

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 9.03.42 AM

As you can see, it also gives you handy little tips from the get go.

Here is how it looks while you are recording:

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 9.33.05 AM

You can pause your recording and the begin again. Once you are done, press done. You will then be asked to name your recording:

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 9.33.20 AM

I tried the transcript option, but alas, I think you have to pay:

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 9.33.58 AMI didn’t want to pay so I opted out.

Then I uploaded it to my google drive, where I could send the link by email, or share it with whoever I want:

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 9.34.28 AMAs you can see, you can also send it to dropbox, save it on your camera tool, sync it via wifi and open it in iMovie, web dab, and many other options.

Here are my recordings in my google drive:

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 9.40.54 AMAnd here is the link to my recording (honestly not worth listening to the whole thing- I am just attaching it as an example):

My recording

All in all, if your goal is to make quick comments and share them in a quick and effective manner to your students, this is a good option. The free version is easy to use, does not impose a time limit on recordings (YES IT DOES) and has many options for exporting.

Leave a Reply

