How Do You Cite a Tweet in an Academic Paper?

I attended a MELS symposium last week where all the presentations were available via links through twitter. For some reason, I have been very slow to get on the Twitter bandwagon- just don’t have that much to say in 140 characters or less I guess (If I do have something to say, I usually like to use a lot of words to say it). Still, I am slowly learning the usefulness of the tweet in terms of keeping up with my profession as well as promoting my own work. Case in point: while a dialogue was happening in real time, there was also a professional conversation going on via Twitter.

So what if someone says something brilliant, has a brilliant insight that emphasizes your point and you want to cite one of your colleague’s tweets in your paper?

Look no further- the Atlantic has the answer!

See on Scoop.itipadyoupad

There are rules for these sorts of things. They are how civilizations are built and maintained.

See on m.theatlantic.com

Leave a Reply

