Stand Up For Your Right…to live longer and healthier

Okay, so yesterday was the last straw. I was sitting for about the fourth consecutive hour, focussing on putting my new found Photoshop skills into practice (more on that later) and Ideas in the Afternoon comes on the CBC. What was the topic? Well, okay, it was mainly about walking but a big part of it was how sitting is becoming the new epidemic.

Now, I have written about this before. Talked anyone who has the misfortune of being in my vicinity ears off about it. And yet, there I was, sitting my way to an early death (You say I exaggerate? whatever. Hyperbole is an effective literary technique in order to demonstrate my point, I riposte).

So I did something about it. Here is my first attempt at a standing desk:

photo 3

It took five minutes. Okay, okay, it was aesthetically displeasing and not so ergonomic, but it got me standing. Issues were that the screen was too low and the mouse didn’t work so well on the dirty box surface.

So this morning, I tried putting all those unused National Geographics to use (I dusted them before though):

photo 1 photo 2

It looks better, I can adjust the height and the mouse works way better.  I am sure I will be making some adjustments but so far so good. Not sure about the actual ergonomics- I have tried to make it so my elbows fall naturally at my side and my wrist is not at a bad angle, but I am not sure if I am doing it right- I would have to defer to an expert on that…

Now, I will let you know how it feels to be standing instead of sitting all day…

Leave a Reply

