Updating my Skill Set: Getting Over my Fear of Photoshop

ladieslearningcode-500x500Learning something new is scary, especially if you have had time to build up a good infrastructure of fear around it. But there comes a time when you have to woman up and face your fears directly. That time came for me this last Saturday, when I took an introductory workshop on web design with the organization Ladies Learning Code.

That wasn’t the scary part. The scary part was that we were using – gasp – Photoshop as a design tool.

Confession time. I am Photoshop phobic. The few times I have tried to use it, I end up simply moving my mouse up and down with no idea where to even begin. Anytime photoshop is required beyond resizing or cropping images, I get my husband to do it (or my daughters- they are now both adept at using it due to Mr. Scruton’s multimedia class.)

Photoshop is one of the few tools I felt I needed some handholding to begin to understand (and, for the sake of my marriage, the hand holder could not be my husband), so I jumped at the chance when I saw the workshop advertised. It cost $50 and included a catered lunch. There was a workshop leader and then a mentor for every 3 participants (these people volunteered their time to help out) which meant that there was always someone around to help if I got stuck.

I met some interesting people and above all, learned the basics of navigating the arcane (ok, now a little less for me) world of Photoshop! I was even able to put my new found skills to work on Monday, when I designed the following poster using Photoshop:

Used Book Sale Poster

It was way easier than using word or powerpoint (which is what I have been using) once I finally understood the advantage of layers. Okay, so I have a ways to go in terms of design, but it’s a start!

I would definitely recommend Ladies Learning Code if you want to learn something new (they give introductory workshops on html, CSS, etc.) Their next workshop is a mother/daughter introduction to html/css. Check it out!

Now can anybody tell me what the heck rasterizing means?

Leave a Reply

