A Picture is Worth a 1000 Words: PLAGIARISM INFOGRAPHICS

I received an email last night from a teacher who is worried not only about the frequent cases of plagiarism in her classes but at the fact that the students don’t seem to understand they have done anything wrong.

I agree. This is an issue. Although I have spoken to the grade 7 and 8s about Plagiarism it most definitely is not enough. The students should be reminded of what exactly constitutes plagiarism, and tips on how to avoid it whenever they receive an assignment that requires research.

I did a quick search and found some amazing infographics to help teachers get the point across. I will being with my very first (and rudimentary) one called You are a Plagiairist If:

Screen Shot 2014-03-28 at 11.48.39 AM

But, I admit, the design leaves much to be desired. Here are some more professional-looking and fun visuals about plagiarism.

This is my favourite. Clear, concise, simple:

easybib

This one is fun, but takes a bit of looking at. I would introduce it and take a part of a class to talk about it. Then I would post it where you can point to it anytime you have a research assignment.plagiarism+infographic+2+copy

 

Umm, this one is a little dramatic, but it gets the point across…

plagtracker-dark-and-light-side-infographic

The following needs to be accompanies by the website where I found kit, the WriteCheck blog. They take a study that used over 900 teachers in secondary and post-secondary to define the types of plagiarism and then gave these types social media names to show what role the internet plays in plagiarism. It is well done and offers an easy way to talk to students about it. Although I recommend checking out the website, here is the very large infographic:

spectrum_report

I would also like to mention how I like these infographics as the sources are included right in the mirage. Saves time, don’t you think? You could also use the resources Madame Prof de Français showed us in today’s workshop and make your own:

I made my infographic using Easel.ly

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Picture is Worth a 1000 Words: PLAGIARISM INFOGRAPHICS

Leave a Reply

