How to Organize your Calendar at Traf

Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.39.54 AMYesterday I showed the staff briefly how to subscribe to the calendar feeds from our web calendar through the Traf app. However there were many questions that I was not able to address in the short time we had, which I thought I would address now.

 

 

 

First of all, here is a step by step guide to getting your calendar app up to date on your iPad:

1.Tap on the Calendar box:

photo

2. Scroll down to the bottom of the Calendar until you see calendar feeds. Scroll down to view the options and choose one.

3. You will get the following message. Tap okay:

photo 1 photo 2

4. View your events in your calendar!

 

QUESTIONS

Why can I see the feed I subscribed to on my iPad but not on my google calendar or iCal on my desktop?

After a bit of fiddling around with the different calendars, I came to the conclusion that, even though you can sync events and calendars that you create in your calendar, the feeds you subscribe to will not sync to your other devices. At least, I think that is true to the best of my knowledge- if I am wrong please let me know!

 

What this means is that you will have to take the two minutes and subscribe to your feeds on your laptop. Go to the Calendar on the Traf website. Click on the Arrow out of the box icon in the upper right hand corner:

Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.51.01 AM

Choose which option suits you best. 

Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.32.25 AM

 

Personally, I use my google calendar, so I chose to add it directly to my google calendar. make sure you are signed in to your Google account if you choose this option.

Why are some events repeating in my calendar?

If you are like me, you will have several different calendars. I have two gmail accounts- a personal and a work one. I tend to share my google calendars with my different accounts so that if I am logged into my work account and check my calendar, I will see if I have a personal event that might conflict with an after school event.

But if I don’t watch out, I will get a calendar that looks like this:

photo 1-1

Notice the 3 labour days, the 2 GFTC meetings. This is an easy fix. Simply go to your calendars and scroll through them to see where maybe some of your calendars repeat. Once you have found the duplicates, uncheck all but one. This does not mean you are deleting a calendar. It just means that you are hiding it from the display.

Here is how it should look:

photo

Ahhh. That’s better. If you are having other issues with your calendar, or if this post was as clear as mud, please come and see me and we can de-fuddle it together!

 

One thought on “How to Organize your Calendar at Traf

Leave a Reply

