rAPPido Review: the new Canva app!

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 9.04.48 AMOh, how I love templates. How I appreciate a funky, new design where I can simply plug in my information and let all those people with a modicum of aesthetics do all the hard work for me.

Imagine my excitement when I heard through this article that Canva, which up to now was only a web-based application, now has a new app!

Price: free

What is it?

Canva helps you create posters, invites, info graphics, etc. It has many , many different lay outs.

How does it work?

First, you choose a template:

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.23.02 AM

I chose to make a poster. Then scroll through the vast field of lay out options:

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.23.31 AM

Ok. Picked one. Now for my text!

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.27.30 AM

Ok. So far so good. I add the text by simply tapping on the filler words. You have to tap each line to modify the text. Here is where the app got slow, like molasses slow. I thought it was frozen but realized after a while that it was just taking a long time to process. I am not sure if this is because I am using an older iPad (iPad 3) or if it was just having a bad day…Will have to try again at a later date to test this out.

You can also add more text by choosing one of the text layouts.

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.30.17 AM

There are many layouts:

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.33.32 AM

You can move text around and change the colour of the font as well as the backgrounds:

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.44.05 AM

I was especially impressed to see that they provide the hex code for the colours, which is super handy if you want to get the colour exactly right:

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.45.05 AM

Once you are done, you can download your design as either an image or a pdf:

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.46.18 AM

But the sharing was weird. When I first tapped on the share tab, I got this message:

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.46.51 AM

So I went back to the “My designs” page and then opened my poster again and was finally able to get my sharing options:

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.48.32 AM Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.48.51 AM

Even with the slowness, this poster took me only a few minutes. It is way better than what I could accomplish with powerpoint (which is the lazy way I usually make my posters) and way easier to navigate than something like photoshop (which I have valiantly attempted several times but then always run away screaming).

Here is the finished product:

Book Cafe

This is a great app for students to use when they need to make a visual for a project- from info graphics to posters to invitations, it has got something for all aspects of school life! It is also easy-to-use and free. I will be adding this app to the iPad Lab!

2 thoughts on “rAPPido Review: the new Canva app!

  1. What great news that the app. is out! I love making quick and efficient designs for my class. It really doesn’t take that much time and the students appreciate it. I am going to get the yearbook team to have a mini-poster making session for all their advertisement and school publicity needs.

  2. Pingback: mauilibrarian2 in Olinda: Five Apps That Enchanted Me in 2014 and I’m Taking with Me into 2015 | ipadyoupad

Leave a Reply

