My iPad Goals 2015

Yesterday I sent an email to the staff following-up on each teacher’s individual iPad/Tech Goals for the year. It occurred to me that I hadn’t done mine. In the spirit of putting my money where my mouth is, here are my modest goals for the remainder of this school year.

  1. Follow-up: I want to be better at following up on a one-on-one basis with each teacher about their goals. yesterday was just a beginning. I plan to add this to my calendar once a month to see how it is going.
  2. Spring Cleaning: I tend to download a lot of apps in order to try them out and review them for our community. However, once I do, I rarely use them again. This has recently come to bite me in the proverbial toosh when I was trying to update my apps and I had no memory left. Delete those apps I don’t use! (No worries, though. They are easily retrieved. They are not gone forever…)
  3. Student follow-up: I think this is maybe where I am dropping the ball. I would like to have periodic follow-ups with the students to see how they are using their iPads in terms of organization and time-management. As these skills need to be learned and then practiced until they become second nature, I feel that more follow-ups in this area is essential. I know of one advisor who regularly checks their advisee’s iPads to see if they are writing their homework down. I would also like to explore new and innovative ways to use the built-in tools on the iPad in this area. Some students have more difficulty with organization- what is the method that would work best for them.
  4. This is a corollary to the previous goal. I would like to know how the students use their iPad. What they are having difficulty with and what they like about it. Hmmm. I think it is time for another student survey!

This will do for now, though the more I think about it, the more I want to do…

Have you made your goals yet?

Leave a Reply

