rAPPido review: Survey Monkey

I find myself in this new year with the need for a good survey tool. As part of our Technovation Challenge, our team needs to survey our intended users for our app. I am also thinking of surveying the Grades 7-9 to get a better idea of how they are using the iPad (this will be a lot heftier than our Technovation user survey).

I was pleased to see that Surveymonkey now has an app.

Price: free

Pro version: 25.99 USD per month

Yeah. I think I will stick with the free version…

You can log in to your Surveymonkey account with a new username or password, or you can sign in with your google account.  You can also create your surveys on the iPad or on your laptop. I looked at both interfaces and found that the main difference was that there were more explanations about what each button does on the desktop version. This would have been useful on the iPad version though as some of the labels were not clear.

For example, I thought the “Text” option was going to allow me to ask a question where the respondent can answer with text.

Nope. It meant exactly what it said: it was a box of text to describe your survey:

IMG_1082

For the first few questions, I used the Matrix/Rating scale option:

Screen Shot 2015-01-22 at 9.17.56 AM

(the screenshot above is from the desktop version. The ones below are form my iPad).

It took me a while to get my head around how this works, but I finally figured out that I only needed one row:

IMG_1083

And 3 columns:

IMG_1084

However, I could have done a scale here and simply numbered the columns. This is how it looks:

IMG_1085 IMG_1086

I also used the drop down menu option:

IMG_1087 IMG_1088 IMG_1089

Here are some of the options available:

IMG_1090 IMG_1091

IMG_1092

And sharing options:

IMG_1093

Hmmm. This is good to know. As the pro version is out of my price range, this might not be the best option for a survey for the whole school.

IMG_1094

Still, besides the lack of information describing what each question option does on the iPad version, and the limit of respondents, I was impressed by how easy it was to create a user-friendly, nicely designed survey. I am thinking of having the team go from person to person to collect responses, so the “Multiple responses per device” option is also very useful. Surveymonkey would be a good option for class activities.

Leave a Reply

