iPad Challenge of April 22: Accessibility Tools (Safari Reader & Dictionary)

Capture d’écran 2015-04-23 à 11.18.29

A huge thank you to Melanie Leblanc for leading our iPad workshop yesterday. I thought it would be useful to give a quick reference of the built-in tools on the iPad she demonstrated as there was a lot of information and once again, little time to really explore these tools.

Safari Reader

What is it? This feature allows you to get rid of all the ads and other features on a website and focus on the main content.

How is it useful? When you want your students to read a certain text without getting overwhelmed by all the visual bells and whistles of a site. I know that I will personally use this as I like to read long form articles online and I find the ads and sidebars visually exhausting.

How do I use it?

Open Safari and find the article you want to read:

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 8.39.34 AM

See the lines beside the URL?

Slide1

Tap it. This is how it looks like:

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 8.39.46 AM

I know, right? Why did I not know about this before? I was looking online to make sure I got the name right while writing this and the articles about it date back to 2010.

Sigh.

NOTE: I used this article from the Atlantic as I had just read it and the ads gave me headaches, but I just realized that they only allow the first paragraph to be read in Reader. I guess they really want you to see those ads.

Double sigh.

Dictionary

What is it? Umm, a dictionary? Duh? Sorry. My ‘tide came out there. The dictionary feature is where you can hold your finger down on a word that you do not know in your article and  it will give you a definition or at least take you to a website with more information:

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 8.52.19 AM

Now, the first time I tried this, I highlighted the word “women” and got a “No results” message. that is because I had no dictionaries downloaded. You need to tap the manage button and then download your dictionaries:

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 8.55.19 AM

As you can see, you can have dictionaries in many different languages. You can also search the web for more information. Here I highlighted the phrase digital revolution and tapped on define:

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 8.58.15 AM

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 8.58.26 AM

No definition was found for “digital revolution” so I tapped the “Search Web” option and got these results:

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 8.58.34 AM

Both of these tools are simple, built-in the iPad and extremely useful for the classroom, not to mention our own online reading!

Tomorrow: Voice Over and Keyboard features!

Leave a Reply

