rAPPido review: Do Ink (featuring my first attempt at a green screen!)

So I bought a green Screen as part of the Maker Space in the library. Not only did I buy a Green Screen, but I  bought both a stand for it and clamps. In short, the whole shebang.

Today I finally took a minute to set it up. I did this because today is the last day of Staff appreciation week, where our lovely, amazing parents have been showering us with treats and decorations from the 1970s. As today was the last day, the staff was asked to dress up in their 70s finest, and well, I happen to look fabulous darling (cough, cough.)

Here are some terrible pictures of my very slipshod set up (I just wanted to see if it would work!)

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 2.09.26 PMThen I downloaded an app called Do Ink, which I had seen demonstrated at the OLA Conference back in January.

Price: $3.99

Here is the description:

Green Screen by Do Ink makes it easy to create incredible green screen videos and images right on your iPad. The app lets you combine photos and videos from the camera roll with live images from your iPad’s camera.”

It took me a second to figure out how to use it, but once I did, it was easy peasy! At first, I tried to take the picture in front of the green screen (I used poor Marie-Claude as my guinea pig. She kindly gave me permission to use these outtakes).

When I took the picture before adding a backdrop the green simply went black:

IMG_1237

When I added the background after, it took me a while to figure out that I had to play around with the colour wheel in order to get the background to show up:

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 2.16.14 PM.png

Then I got this psychedelic image, which I am quite fond of in its own right, though it wasn’t exactly what I wanted:

IMG_1238

Ok. So maybe I need to stick the image in first. Marie-Claude had flown the coop by this point, so I decided to try it on myself. I added the backdrop and got Gail to take my photo. Even while taking the photo, the backdrop showed up in the background instead of the green screen and then it saved directly to my camera roll:

FullSizeRender

I know. Fabulous, nest-ce-pas? You can almost hear Hot Chocolate playing the background…

And then I was having so much fun, I roped some other fabulously appareled staff members to try it, as well as a couple of the lovely parents who spoiled us rotten this week!

FullSizeRender-1FullSizeRender-2FullSizeRender-3IMG_1250

Seriously. So. Much. Fun. I can see this being useful for so many projects. Life of the amoeba, perhaps? Jane Austen’s England? How about we swing over to Rome in the 1st century?

Now available for loan in the library!

 

Leave a Reply

